The Dorset Local Medical Committee

The Committee of the Dorset LMC meets 6 times a year, and currently consists of 25 members, elected from 6 constituencies. In addition, there is provision for the Committee to co-opt one GP to represent a particular area of expertise not otherwise represented on the Committee, the Chief Executive/Treasurer of the Wessex LMC, and a Trainee GP. The Committee also has 2 Practice Manager Invitees and space for an Educational Invitee from HEE and a Military Invitee. Dorset LMC can co-opt:

  • LMC Chief Executive/s
  • Ophthalmic Medical Practitioner (not currently)
  • GPC Representative

Elections are held every two years under the terms of the LMC constitution, and all GPs are eligible for nomination and election. Sessional GPs i.e. those who are not Partners, may choose to stand in their geographical area, or for sessional seats.

Chair – Dorset Local Medical Committee

Dr Simon Wright

Simon Wright is a GP working in Wimborne, Dorset who qualified as a doctor in 2008 from the University of Birmingham, and as a GP in 2012. He takes pride in calling himself a generalist, but also enjoys medical education and law. When not at work he likes to practice getting faster on his bicycle!


Dr Nicola Prys-Jones

Nicola Prys-Jones works as a portfolio GP in Bournemouth, Dorset. She qualified as a Doctor in 2004 from the University of Southampton, working in all three major hospitals in Dorset before qualifying as a GP in 2009. She really enjoys the variety of presentations and diagnostic challenges general practice provides, and is a passionate advocate for General Practice and her fellow GPs. Outside of work Nicola is an enthusiastic gardener and baker, who loves exploring our coastline and who aims to complete the South West Coast Path over the coming years.


Why Become a Wessex LMCs Committee Member